Skip to content

Versatile blogger award. Multitasking made difficult.

January 12, 2013

Well: here, as has been said before, is a turn-up for the books. That rather splendid man – The Ranting Papizilla – has e-presented me with a Versatile Blogger Award.

I’m not sure quite what that means, but I am flattered. Versatile – me – it’s official. Mrs sometimessays will never believe it – it’s not usually listed among my attributes, unless you count snacking while I’m washing up and not getting soap suds on the ginger biscuits. She would argue that I fall within the terms of the Scissor Sisters’ explanation: “All you do is change your clothes and call that versatile”. That’s the line in  I don’t feel like dancin’, but, actually, I do feel like dancin’, thanks to the huge and undeserved compliment and the good cheer it has instilled.  So, like the Beautiful South, I’ve come for my awardonemandband

(I’m a little bit impressed with myself for knowing relevant music for this!)

I’m new to all this, but I have gathered that there are rules to these Awards. I’d feel it would be churlish to ignore them, so here are the Versatile Blogger Rules  (If you choose to obey them).

  • Display the Award Certificate on your website
  • Announce your win with a post and link to whoever presented your award
  • Present 15 awards to deserving bloggers (this feels like a lot…)
  • Drop them a comment to tip them off after you’ve linked them in the post
  • Post 7 interesting things about yourself.

So, the first and second are done.

The third, well, here we go.

The fourth – imminent. Done by the time you read this.

Finally, seven things.

  1. I was once asked to leave a public tennis court by legendary footballer Bobby Moore. I was 11 at the time – I’m not sure he recognised my potential.
  2. I’m a Sherlock Holmes aficionado and collector – one of the serious ones, but not one of the really really really serious ones. (Is that interesting? I think so).
  3. I prefer the Rolling Stones to the Beatles, Blur to Oasis, Beethoven to Wagner, and Mozart to any of them.
  4. I have a dictionary at work on my desk, and a tankard at home, that I gave to my granddad when I was young. There’s nothing special about them except that they were his and I gave them to him
  5. I studied law at university, and wrote a dissertation on the criminal definitions of insanity. Have a link to Peter Maxwell Davies’ Eight Songs for a Mad King. That’s a fascinating piece – but we can save that for another time, if you like.
  6. I visited Manila a few years ago, where we were confined to our hotel by the typhoon. That’s where I discovered that I like whisky, after years of thinking I hated it. Since then I have made it my mission to learn more about single malts and became a Friend of Laphroaig. But my favourite is Lagavulin.
  7. I don’t play golf.

So that’s it. If you’ve got this far, well done for sticking with it. I deliberately put the things about me at the end. Never mind “versatile”, it took me at least four times as long to do the links, messages and so on as it did to come up with the words. But I did still manage to get one or two musical snippets in among them. Thanks again. And as Mac Davies said, “It’s Hard to be Humble, but I’m doing the best that I can.”

From → Uncategorized

10 Comments
  1. Thank you for my award:) And P.S – I don’t like golf either:) And I don’t play.

  2. Hey Simon – thank you for the award – much appreciated. So do you prefer Rathbone to Cumberbatch? Or is it all about the books? (Which whisky did Holmes prefer?) I’m an Ardbeg and Glenmorangie man myself…
    🙂

    • It starts with the books, but doesn’t end anywhere. I like Cumberbatch and Rathbone equally, but Brett less so. The whisky question is an interesting one – I may conduct some research (some of it practical). Thanks!

  3. Hi! Thanks so much for the award! I’m so glad to hear that you enjoy my blog (: I’m still super surprised that people are managing to stumble upon it, so it’s really cool to get such kind feedback. “Eight Songs for a Mad King” was the first piece of music to legitimately scare me – it’s so intense and impactful. Love it. Thanks again (:

    • My pleasure. I’m pretty new to all this myself.
      The scariest music I ever heard, and it still give me the shivers now, is Claggart’s aria from Britten’s Billy Budd. I may write about that sometime – it kept me awake at night to think how evil he was!

  4. Hi! Thanks so much for your comment on my blog – I will need to prod it out of its slumber and follow those pretty intense rules up there to meet the ‘award’ criteria, but will hopefully have it up/done soon. Now I need to ask you a very serious question, given your obvious Holmes-expertise: the TV series or Guy Ritchie’s movies?! (This always gnaws at my heart, even though people scorn me for even thinking such a question/comparison.)

  5. Thanks very much!
    You’re right it is indeed a very serious question. There are various levels of response – a detailed 200 page blow-by-blow, line-by-line analysis; or a short essay on the general points of preference; or a short paragraph. Guess which (or rather, deduce which).
    I presume you mean the TV Sherlock of Benedict Cumberbatch? I love it, and as a transportation of the true spirit of SH into a modern idiom it is simply brilliant. (I don’t get the right channels to see Elementary, though I really like the trailers). Guy Ritchie’s movies are great fun, though not quite so Holmesian, though Jared Harris as Moriarty is the most sinister of all.

    The best of all screen Holmeses(!) – or at least my favourite – Basil Rathbone.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Was Gran a punk rocker? « simonsometimessays

Leave a Reply

the dancing professor

building back the habit of writing, one day at a time

Eric Schlehlein, Author

(re)Living History, with occasional attempts at humor and the rare pot-luck subject. Sorry, it's BYOB. All I have is Hamm's.

Janh1: Mainly fair with occasional rain.

Mediocre revelations of a part-time hedonist.

fionaok's Blog

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Sian is Me

A library of thoughts

Dave's Corner of the Universe

Where strange fact and stranger fiction collide

The COR

Concert, Opera, Recital

Walk the Self-Talk

Breathing Life into Thoughts

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

DIS CRIS

#DEMENTED

Vows

Nominated for The Deli Magazines Artist of The Month

tanja stark

art words ideas

MarLa Sink Druzgal

Writer. Photographer. Literary Traveler.

Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34

This is a blog started with a 'reboot your life' 3 day challenge and has developed into random posts about family, travel, food, life and other adventures

LoveLee Adulting

Take the journey to Adulthood with me.

Classical Conditioning

because classical music could use some help right about now

Every record tells a story

A Blog About Music, Vinyl, More Music and (Sometimes) Music...

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Inside Croydon

Living life on the fringes of London

patchmanblog

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

palisadespete

10 Facts to Get You Started

notabarrister - thoughts from the clerk's room

"I clerk therefore I am" - Des a clerk

The Well-Read Sherlockian

Take a look inside the tin dispatch box....

ccstomberg

Random musings

The WordPress.com Blog

...and sometimes he sings it instead

