Skip to content

I have nothing to say about pancakes.

February 12, 2013

Another quick post. It’s the end of Shrove Tuesday. The internet has been so awash with images of pancakes that were we being monitored by aliens in space they might well deduce that Earth’s dominant life-form is flat, roughly circular, and has creamy brown skin with a slightly bobbly texture. But other than the fact that as the day has progressed these images have had a distracting effect which has increased in mouthwateriness, I find that I have nothing whatever to say about pancakes.

While I type, Mrs simonsometimessays is whipping up a few of said delicacies, and for the next five minutes you have my undivided attention.

Shrove Tuesday. I was at an embarrassingly advanced age before I realised that Shrove Tuesday and Mardi Gras were one and the same thing.  mardi grasRaised a Catholic (about which I have no hang-ups) I associated the day with pancakes (well, naturally) and the arrival of Lent. It was Paul Simon’s song – Take me to the Mardi Gras – that was to blame. It taught me not about a forthcoming period of fasting and solemnity, but about a rather cool party that I’d like to go to when I grew older. I’d still like to.

It’s the last day until Easter on which the word Alleluia is uttered in Catholic services. And so, in order that you don’t run short of alleluias, I offer:

Why make a choice? Take both with my compliments. And with the observation that lemon juice and maple syrup is a surprisingly toothsome combination. Worth the wait.

From → Uncategorized

11 Comments
  1. Hmmmm, lemon and maple syrup – must try that on my carrots.

  2. How could that not be a good idea? Thank you for the inspiration! Simon

  3. Papizilla permalink

    Is it lent already again? Meh. I will give up Reality TV again this year I guess…(I have never watched it anyway, it still counts though, right?) 😀 And the lemon and maple syrup thing? Yikes.

  4. You should probably give up avoiding reality TV – but I wouldn’t advise it!

  5. Mike Truman permalink

    Ever since she was in her mid-teens, my daughter has given up eating aardvarks for Lent. She always seems to manage it, I’ve never seen her guiltily stuffing an aardvark ear into the food recycling bin.

    • Well that’s impressive. I couldn’t make that sacrifice. But how would she feel if it were discovered that there is in fact aardvark in the lasagne?

  6. Thanks for visiting my blog I give you another version of Leonard Cohen http://youtu.be/P_NpxTWbovE 🙂 D 34

    • Hmm – not sure about this one. It’s heartfelt and passionate, certainly, but a little too melodramatic for me. Hearing a number of different versions lately, I find that quite a few people have been tempted to introduce meaningful pauses and to decorate the notes. Doesn’t always strike the right chord with me!

  7. I’m a purist – lemon and sugar only for me…

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. The Spurious Accident of the Blog on my Timeline | simonsometimessays

Leave a Reply

the dancing professor

building back the habit of writing, one day at a time

Eric Schlehlein, Author

(re)Living History, with occasional attempts at humor and the rare pot-luck subject. Sorry, it's BYOB. All I have is Hamm's.

Janh1: Mainly fair with occasional rain.

Mediocre revelations of a part-time hedonist.

fionaok's Blog

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Sian is Me

A library of thoughts

Dave's Corner of the Universe

Where strange fact and stranger fiction collide

The COR

Concert, Opera, Recital

Walk the Self-Talk

Breathing Life into Thoughts

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

DIS CRIS

#DEMENTED

Vows

Nominated for The Deli Magazines Artist of The Month

tanja stark

art words ideas

MarLa Sink Druzgal

Writer. Photographer. Literary Traveler.

Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34

This is a blog started with a 'reboot your life' 3 day challenge and has developed into random posts about family, travel, food, life and other adventures

LoveLee Adulting

Take the journey to Adulthood with me.

Classical Conditioning

because classical music could use some help right about now

Every record tells a story

A Blog About Music, Vinyl, More Music and (Sometimes) Music...

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Inside Croydon

Living life on the fringes of London

patchmanblog

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

palisadespete

10 Facts to Get You Started

notabarrister - thoughts from the clerk's room

"I clerk therefore I am" - Des a clerk

The Well-Read Sherlockian

Take a look inside the tin dispatch box....

ccstomberg

Random musings

The WordPress.com Blog

...and sometimes he sings it instead

