Skip to content

I know where I’m going

June 26, 2014

You wouldn’t know it, to judge from my sporadic behaviour on these pages in recent months, but I know where I’m going. Put it down to a variety of factors: a change in direction, the unexpected frenzy of having more leisure (and therefore more people expecting me to spend it on them), and the World Cup to worry abo… No: strike that last one.

I know where I’m going is a traditional Scottish folk song. The link above is to Cerys Mathews’ live performance of it – and she does it with the conviction of someone with their roots in folk music. I don’t know if that’s true or not – but she sings it like it is.

It’s also the song used to give the title to a Powell and Pressburger movie, a beautifully filmed and characteristically engrossing ballad set around a Scottish island. Anything by that duo is worth a look  (I remember saying so before in relation to their richly-layered portrait of Australia – They’re a Weird Mob) – so please do, if for nothing more than the unmistakeable silk-and-gravel voice of Roger Livesey as the young Laird.

It was pure coincidence that just a few days after I first saw I know where I’m going that I first met some in-laws* who were singing the song, and an instant connection was made. Powell and Pressburger gave us movies that connect across eras, despite coming from an age when actors believed that humour was conveyed by uttering the word “Ha!” as if in imitation of a basset hound in a hurry.

The range of the two Ps’ output was wide indeed. Take The Tales of Hoffmann, for instance: a cinematic re-working of Offenbach’s** opera as a tale within a tale. It includes the lovely Barcarolle – here sung by Katherine Ciesinski and the incomparable Jessye Norman.

Anyway – I still know where I’m going. And although Talking Heads’ Road to Nowhere has very appropriate opening lyrics, that isn’t where I’m going.

No: I’m going to get some breakfast.

*  Technically, they are my brother’s in-laws, but why ruin the narrative? If you consider Jane Austen or Anthony Trollope, their characters were always referring to their brothers’ wives as “sister”, their wives’ brothers as “brother”, and so on. How much simpler that was. When did we get so bothered by the precision? I have a fear that it comes from a misplaced belief that other people regard the details of our personal lives as essential knowledge.

**  Yes the one who wrote the music for the Can-Can. But if he really thought it would end up as performed by Bad Manners I am sure he would have scratched the whole project.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

the dancing professor

building back the habit of writing, one day at a time

Eric Schlehlein, Author

(re)Living History, with occasional attempts at humor and the rare pot-luck subject. Sorry, it's BYOB. All I have is Hamm's.

Janh1: Mainly fair with occasional rain.

Mediocre revelations of a part-time hedonist.

fionaok's Blog

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Sian is Me

A library of thoughts

Dave's Corner of the Universe

Where strange fact and stranger fiction collide

The COR

Concert, Opera, Recital

Walk the Self-Talk

Breathing Life into Thoughts

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

DIS CRIS

Just Click It

Vows

Nominated for The Deli Magazines Artist of The Month

tanja stark

art words ideas

MarLa Sink Druzgal

Writer. Photographer. Literary Traveler.

Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34

This is a blog started with a 'reboot your life' 3 day challenge and has developed into random posts about family, travel, food, life and other adventures

LoveLee Adulting

Take the journey to Adulthood with me.

Classical Conditioning

Let's talk about classical music

Every record tells a story

A Blog About Music, Vinyl, More Music and (Sometimes) Music...

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Inside Croydon

Living life on the fringes of London

patchmanblog

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

palisadespete

10 Facts to Get You Started

notabarrister - thoughts from the clerk's room

"I clerk therefore I am" - Des a clerk

The Well-Read Sherlockian

Take a look inside the tin dispatch box....

ccstomberg

Random musings

The WordPress.com Blog

...and sometimes he sings it instead

