Skip to content

They don’t serve breakfast at Tiffany’s

September 5, 2014

This is true. The ship on which Mrs simonsometimessays and I recently took our Scandinavian cruise had a spot called Tiffany’s – something like the lounges on the larger hotels – in which you could be served with coffee and cake or cocktails at most times of the day. But not breakfast. This fact is a godsend, as it enables me to link to a favourite track – Breakfast at Tiffany’s by Deep Blue Something. I do love this song: as well as having a lovely echo worked into the production, it has a friendly rhythm, straightforward harmonies, a good solid melody and lyrics that have an underlying message of hope – just listen to the last line of the chorus.

The credit for noticing the irony in what I shall ever know as The Great Tiffany’s Conundrum belongs not to me, but to…

…well I have to pause here. I have to think about naming names in these pages. It’s all very well having struck up a friendship (I hope) with someone, but three weeks’ acquaintance does not entitle me to bandy their identities around the internet (and for all they know, this is being read by millions). Perhaps I should just use initials for the time being: the couple I have in mind can be referred to as “S & M”.

No, hang on, that’s not a good plan. It could so easily be misunderstood.

Let’s reverse it: “M & S”. No, that’s not much better: that would be giving free publicity to a certain retailer by putting their name in front of my readers, whom I have hitherto protected from product placement. (Actually, I am not sure about that, but let it pass.)

Hang it all: let’s risk it. The person who made me a present of the title for this post was Marian. Nothing to do with the eponymous Marian from this Sisters of Mercy track. I hope not, anyway. Marian, if (1) you read this, and (2) anyone else does, and (3) you get papped as a result, I unreservedly apologise.

I came to Breakfast at Tiffany’s rather late. I read Truman Capote’s novel first and came to the movie with the hope of great things. But I was quite unprepared for just how great a film it is. Audrey Hepburn was extraordinary; I’m sure that, like me, millions of men fell a little in love with Holly Golightly. Whether dressed up for the party, dressed down to go shopping, or sitting on the window ledge singing Moon River, that performance placed her at at the top of the Hollywood heap, and she’s yet to be dislodged.

Not Audrey Hepburn's best look

Moon River – as you probably know (and I like to think that you are all the kind of people who would know this) – is the work of Henry Mancini. He is also responsible for the instantly recognised Pink Panther theme. You might be surprised, though – as I was – at just how extensive his list of film music credits is. Listen to this – the “Cat and Mouse” theme from Victor Victoria – for which he won one of his four oscars.

I digress. But then, that’s rather the point of this blog, isn’t it? Mentioning breakfast has made me want some, so it’s time to finish. I am at Mum’s house this morning, with a slight chill in the air and a covering of cloud that make me think that we are Standing on the Edge of Summer.

Not Audrey Hepburn’s best look

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

the dancing professor

building back the habit of writing, one day at a time

Eric Schlehlein, Author

(re)Living History, with occasional attempts at humor and the rare pot-luck subject. Sorry, it's BYOB. All I have is Hamm's.

Janh1: Mainly fair with occasional rain.

Mediocre revelations of a part-time hedonist.

fionaok's Blog

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Sian is Me

A library of thoughts

Dave's Corner of the Universe

Where strange fact and stranger fiction collide

The COR

Concert, Opera, Recital

Walk the Self-Talk

Breathing Life into Thoughts

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

DIS CRIS

#DEMENTED

Vows

Nominated for The Deli Magazines Artist of The Month

tanja stark

art words ideas

MarLa Sink Druzgal

Writer. Photographer. Literary Traveler.

Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34

This is a blog started with a 'reboot your life' 3 day challenge and has developed into random posts about family, travel, food, life and other adventures

LoveLee Adulting

Take the journey to Adulthood with me.

Classical Conditioning

because classical music could use some help right about now

Every record tells a story

A Blog About Music, Vinyl, More Music and (Sometimes) Music...

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Inside Croydon

Living life on the fringes of London

patchmanblog

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

palisadespete

10 Facts to Get You Started

notabarrister - thoughts from the clerk's room

"I clerk therefore I am" - Des a clerk

The Well-Read Sherlockian

Take a look inside the tin dispatch box....

ccstomberg

Random musings

The WordPress.com Blog

...and sometimes he sings it instead

