Skip to content

The tax man’s taken all my dough

February 9, 2015

(or the Not So Triumphant Return of simonsometimessays)

One of the most irritating things I know is breakfast television. Repetitive, tabloid (though perhaps not so firmly established in the gutter), and neatly encapsulated in a couplet from The Lightning Seeds’ friendly and melodic track A Small Slice of Heaven.

I’ve always enjoyed The Lightning Seeds. While it probably has to be conceded that their output is unigeneric, it is all well-produced and very easy to sing along to. Small wonder that their much more famous song The Life of Riley was used as montage-backing by BBC’s Match of  the Day, and has consequently been associated with football for years. It’s simply too catchy to ignore.

What I was going to say was that this morning the television was particularly irritating: a story of systematic tax evasion which may or may not have been accomplished with the connivance of a major bank. If it is true – and it is not to my purpose to discuss that here – that would represent a large amount of dodged tax by some fairly wealthy people*; this may well have been known about by government for years. But we are still not quite at the point of my greatest annoyance, which is that within half a minute of the beginning of the report it was being diverted down the side-alley of pre-election party politics. (There’s not much that excites me just at the moment at the electoral choices before us, so I think I shall be following the excellent example of the nice lady at Crumbs and Pegs – this week appearing on the e-pages of the Huffington Post.)

Now, given that it is the function of breakfast television to run on a cycle which appears to last between 15 and 30 minutes before starting over again with minimal variation, there is a limit to the number of times that this can be endured. Such limit having been exceeded, I was forced to get out of bed. Mrs simonsometimessays, who by flitting between bathroom and bedroom avoids the intellectual corrosion, likes the TV on while she’s getting ready for work so I have little choice. That, you’ll realise, is what really bugged me.

Thus you find me: just thinking about feeding the cats and wondering what to leave you with. And I’ve decided to share with you a little of my current musical education. As ever, I am late to the party when it comes to hearing new music, but am nonetheless an enthusiastic guest. So here is a composer I have only just discovered: Tansy Davies: presumably no relation to Ray, but that doesn’t matter. This piece – Grind Show – utterly grips me with its sense of purpose and drama; it makes me more excited than ever to see her opera Between Worlds, in a couple of months. Follow that link and see what it’s about, and then tell me whether you think Tansy Davies’ energy and intensity don’t seem made to bring that project to life.

So there are my Toes** returned to the water, then. It’s really quite good to be back in my own small way.

 

*This affords the tenuous connection between the title of this piece and its contents: I just found myself humming the opening lyrics to The Kinks’ Sunny Afternoon. Enjoy this video link – Ray Davies’ sense of irony is quietly delicious.

** Zac Brown Band – what a smiley song.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

the dancing professor

building back the habit of writing, one day at a time

Eric Schlehlein, Author

(re)Living History, with occasional attempts at humor and the rare pot-luck subject. Sorry, it's BYOB. All I have is Hamm's.

Janh1: Mainly fair with occasional rain.

Mediocre revelations of a part-time hedonist.

fionaok's Blog

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Sian is Me

A library of thoughts

Dave's Corner of the Universe

Where strange fact and stranger fiction collide

The COR

Concert, Opera, Recital

Walk the Self-Talk

Breathing Life into Thoughts

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

DIS CRIS

#DEMENTED

Vows

Nominated for The Deli Magazines Artist of The Month

tanja stark

art words ideas

MarLa Sink Druzgal

Writer. Photographer. Literary Traveler.

Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34

This is a blog started with a 'reboot your life' 3 day challenge and has developed into random posts about family, travel, food, life and other adventures

LoveLee Adulting

Take the journey to Adulthood with me.

Classical Conditioning

because classical music could use some help right about now

Every record tells a story

A Blog About Music, Vinyl, More Music and (Sometimes) Music...

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Inside Croydon

Living life on the fringes of London

patchmanblog

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

palisadespete

10 Facts to Get You Started

notabarrister - thoughts from the clerk's room

"I clerk therefore I am" - Des a clerk

The Well-Read Sherlockian

Take a look inside the tin dispatch box....

ccstomberg

Random musings

WordPress.com News

...and sometimes he sings it instead

