Skip to content

Get Well Soon, Mrs sss

March 19, 2015

I am going to follow the example of the very excellent The Dancing Professor, and limit myself strictly to a specific time for this post. See if you can guess how long, as you listen to the English version of a really quite terrific song by the controversial Russian duo t.A.T.u.

Unlike the esteemed TDP, I don’t think I can make a coherent, articulate and well-rounded post of any merit or length in the time I have allocated. However, I have but one line of observation today, so I may not need long.

It’s a simple message, for which Aaron Copland’s setting of Simple Gifts is the perfect accompaniment. The Shaker melody which it renders is clear and pure; Copland’s arrangement turns it into a study in glory.

[Since it is within the rules of this blog to digress as soon as anything in a piece of music takes me off track, let me do so now, and recommend to you the whole of the suite to which this movement belongs. Appalachian Spring.]

It’s an apt piece, anyway, not only for the convenience of its name, but because it is one of those works that can remind me of the appropriate balance of things. It happens more often than I like to admit that there I have more to do than I have done, that there is less time available than is needed, and that I am altogether less competent than I should be at the ordinary business of dealing with stuff. If that sensation threatens to get the best of me, Copland’s magic cuts through and restores some sort of emotional order.

So, what is this simple observation? I’d better get to it before the allotted time runs out – I’ve already wasted some listening to the music, and I haven’t even thought about a picture yet.

It’s this: if Mrs simonsometimessays is under the weather – no matter how little below par that may be – it has an undeniably deleterious effect on my own capacity to function. Now, this may seem an odd place to admit that, but it is an admission made in the safe assumption that she is unlikely to hear of it.

But just in case she does: for her sake, for mine and for the sake of those who otherwise have to deal with my incompetence, I’d like to invite her to Get Well Soon.

Thank you to CBeebies for this inspirational song. Sorry to you all for the last bit of the clip (and much of the rest of it).

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Strangely, as soon as I read you were writing within a time constraint I started reading more quickly. It was a bit stressful and gave me a migraine! 😉

Leave a Reply

the dancing professor

building back the habit of writing, one day at a time

Eric Schlehlein, Author

(re)Living History, with occasional attempts at humor and the rare pot-luck subject. Sorry, it's BYOB. All I have is Hamm's.

Janh1: Mainly fair with occasional rain.

Mediocre revelations of a part-time hedonist.

fionaok's Blog

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Sian is Me

A library of thoughts

Dave's Corner of the Universe

Where strange fact and stranger fiction collide

The COR

Concert, Opera, Recital

Walk the Self-Talk

Breathing Life into Thoughts

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

DIS CRIS

#DEMENTED

Vows

Nominated for The Deli Magazines Artist of The Month

tanja stark

art words ideas

MarLa Sink Druzgal

Writer. Photographer. Literary Traveler.

Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34

This is a blog started with a 'reboot your life' 3 day challenge and has developed into random posts about family, travel, food, life and other adventures

LoveLee Adulting

Take the journey to Adulthood with me.

Classical Conditioning

because classical music could use some help right about now

Every record tells a story

A Blog About Music, Vinyl, More Music and (Sometimes) Music...

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Inside Croydon

Living life on the fringes of London

patchmanblog

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

palisadespete

10 Facts to Get You Started

notabarrister - thoughts from the clerk's room

"I clerk therefore I am" - Des a clerk

The Well-Read Sherlockian

Take a look inside the tin dispatch box....

ccstomberg

Random musings

The WordPress.com Blog

...and sometimes he sings it instead

